We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

“I’m good.” “It was good.”

I just got so tired of hearing these answers when I tried to find out things about my students.

“How was your weekend?”  “Good.”

“How was the food?  “Good.”

“How are you?”  “Good.”

So, about 20 years ago, I decided to not let the “good” answer be “good” enough.  I continued my questioning by asking “Why?”  You can just imagine the look of surprise and wonderment I saw on my students’ faces!  I would just stand there and wait for a more complete answer and I usually got it.

Now we have to move on and figure out how to incorporate the week’s Vocabulary Words into our students’ conversation and lives.

Carla, from comprehensionconnection.net, has some wonderful ideas that you can use in your classroom beginning this coming week.

“If you’ve been in the classroom for even a year or two, you probably have seen first hand how word knowledge helps students better understand the content they’ve read. Without a schema for a topic, there is no place to attach new information, right? Plus, a growing vocabulary transforms kid writing into sophisticated pieces and improves speaking skills too. So how can we as teachers embed vocabulary into every single lesson? Today, I’d like to share ten suggestions to get you started.”

Read more at her blog:

http://www.comprehensionconnection.net/2017/07/10-ways-to-embed-vocabulary-instruction.html#more

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

