We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

9 Ways to Help Students Learn Through Their Mistakes

Remember that Edison failed about 10,000 times before he invented the electric light bulb?  Okay, it was only 9,999 times!  Anyhow, how can we teach students (and other humans) how to learn from their own mistakes?

I often had my former students analyze which Reading skills they needed more time to learn and master.  I taught them how to identify these skills, find new questions that were testing the same skill, and then how to find out the correct answers.  When they learned this skill, they succeeded!  I promise.

The following post is from teachthought.com and does feature some ideas “by bettermarks, a company looking for teachers to beta test their adaptive Math software.”  These ideas can also be used in any other subject that we teach in home school or public schools.

For instance,

honor mistakes as guidance for the student and teacher, too.

encourage students to try different ways to solve problems and find new ways to get the correct answer

provide timely feedback for immediate re-training and encouragement

Some of these ideas are “basic education strategy 101” but it’s still necessary for we “experienced” teachers to remember.

Instead of making students feel “stupid,” teach them how to learn from their mistakes!

http://www.teachthought.com/pedagogy/9-ways-help-students-learn-mistakes/?utm_content=buffer396e0&utm_medium=social&utm_source=plus.google.com&utm_campaign=buffer

4 comments on “9 Ways to Help Students Learn Through Their Mistakes

  1. Pingback: 9 Ways to Help Students Learn Through Their Mistakes | We Were Meant to be Teachers! | So, You Think You Can Teach ESL?

    • Patricia Dorsey
      February 1, 2017

      Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog. I am motivated when people do just that.

      Like

  2. Danielle Ruff
    February 1, 2017

    My classroom motto is Mistakes are proof that you are trying! We celebrate mistakes and their correction!

    Like

    • Patricia Dorsey
      February 1, 2017

      Perfect! I used to ask my students to count how many mistakes I made each day! My 3rd graders loved the challenge and it also had them pay attention to what I said! They loved it! I think the most mistakes I made one day was 5 – usually I made 1 or 2! Keep it up, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Categories

