We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

Are you a Marigold Among the Thorns

I’ve noticed that this post from over a year ago is consistently viewed by my followers.  Because of this, I thought I’d post it again.

Are your friends/co-teachers always complaining about their Principal, the increased job load, parents, students, our mates, etc. etc. etc.?  Short of becoming a Pollyanna type person, why not redirect their comments into something positive?  Find out who the marigold is in your school.  Better yet, become the marigold.

Here’s the Post by Jennifer Gonzalez about becoming the marigold among the thorns.

“Among companion plants, the marigold is one of the best: It protects a wide variety of plants from pests and harmful weeds. If you plant a marigold beside most any garden vegetable, that vegetable will grow big and strong and healthy, protected and encouraged by its marigold.”

Love it and lead it!  Again, BECOME THE MARIGOLD!

https://cultofpedagogy.com/marigolds/

10 comments on “Are you a Marigold Among the Thorns

  1. Lindsay
    January 27, 2017

    My goodness, I love this! I’m actually a teacher and am resigning partly because of the negative environment. I will definitely spend my last few weeks trying to be the marigold!
    Thanks for sharing this! I love metaphors!
    Lindsay
    http://www.followyourdetour.com

    Like

    • Patricia Dorsey
      January 27, 2017

      Oh, dear! I’m sorry that you’re resigning. I left teaching after 5 years because of another opportunity in the private sector. Seven years later I returned as a Substitute Teacher and fell in love again with my mission field. After 43 years, I had to retire because my body told me to do it. I totally understand the negative environment in schools today because of little parental support, lack of students’ self-discipline, Common Core requirements, etc. etc. etc. If you still love being a teacher and see the numerous children who need your love and encouragement, perhaps you should seek to be a teacher in a Magnet or Charter school? Also, at a greatly reduced salary, you might also consider teaching in a private Christian school. Please let me know if I can be of help.

      Like

  2. debolton
    January 28, 2017

    I haven’t had coworkers in years but this is great for any setting in a team or group even with your family. I am also a gardener so the reference resonates. This was memorable thank you.

    Like

    • Patricia Dorsey
      January 28, 2017

      Thank you for your comment. I’m really motivated when someone responds to my blog. Be a blessing…

      Like

  3. Steve Goodwin
    January 28, 2017

    Wow, I didn’t know that about marigolds! This is a great way to live life and help others as well! Wonderfully written.

    Like

    • Patricia Dorsey
      January 28, 2017

      Thank you for your comment. I’m motivated to continue my blog when I hear from one of my readers. I didn’t know that about marigolds being a helper but I have definitely known some “thorns and weeds” in my schools over the years. Be a blessing…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Caroline
    January 29, 2017

    What a great reminder and reflection!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kristi
    January 29, 2017

    What a wonderful analogy! I never knew this about marigolds!

    Like

    • Patricia Dorsey
      January 30, 2017

      Thank you, Kristi, for reading and responding to my Post. I truly hope I maintained my stature as a Marigold among the staff of my former school, too. I’m really blessed whenever one of my readers tells me what she/he thinks. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2017 by in First Day of School, new teachers, professional development days, teacher turnover, teachers and tagged .

Categories

