We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

There is No Such Thing as a Learning Disability

Before you have a cow…please keep reading.  Here’s a wonderful post that I just saw on http://www.linkedin.com that is a big funny, a bit sarcastic, and very much true about our tendency to put students “into boxes” of ability.  I have to admit that I’ve been one of those teachers in the past.

Consider what this post by Andrew Johnson says.  For instance:

“However, there are such things as:

1. a learning-certain-kinds-of-things disability,

2. a learning-school-things disability,

3. a learning-things-you-don’t-want-to-learn disability,

4. a learning-unnaturally disability,”

I especially like #3.  That was a lot of History for me while I was in school.  I know I’m not the only one to feel that!

Here’s the link to Andrew Johnson’s post.  Please consider discussing this in your Teacher’s Meetings next month.  I’d imagine that the discussions will be lively.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/learning-humans-andrew-johnson?trk=mp-reader-card

Leave a Reply

Categories

