We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

How Will Your Students Remember You?

How do I remember my teachers?  Frankly, I was in elementary school “eons ago” as a student, but I do know how my former students remember me.  I’ve been told that I was “crazy, strict, funny, and loving.”  I guess it could be worse!

Kellybear.com shares some really good ideas of what your students should remember about you as their teacher such as:

“…let us choose a famous person to research and impersonate.”
…had the class make cards for my dad who was serving in the Army.”
…asked about my mom who was in the hospital.”
…comforted me when I was sad.”
…let me help her after school.”
…wrote ‘fantastic’ on some of my papers.”
…never gave up on me.”
…made me feel that I mattered.”

My last 10 years I cried, hugged, and encouraged my students as they were being bullied, their mother left them, their parents were divorcing, or their dog died.  Yes, I was their substitute “mother” and I know they appreciated it.

So, if you are having a day that makes you wonder if you’re having any positive effect upon your students, read this post from Leah Davies, M.Ed.  It’ll help you remember why you became a teacher in the first place:

http://www.kellybear.com/TeacherArticles/TeacherTip70.html

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

