We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

Autistic Confessions – I Don’t Handle Last Minute Changes Very Well

Christmas holidays and entertaining? Consider how it feels to an Autistic child/adult.

Anonymously Autistic

When I set out to do something I need to know the end time and like to know what to expect.

For example if I go to an event, even a very busy and loud event with lots of people, I am able to get through it as long as I know when I will be leaving. During the event, I conserve my energy accordingly so I can last.

If you make me stay later at an event I may not have enough energy to get myself home without breaking down. I try to hold things in but depending on how much longer things run, I might cry or have a meltdown .

Another example is when guests visit. I need to know how late people will stay. If my guests stay extra days it will stress me out because I won’t be able to recharge while there are extra…

View original post 68 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Categories

