We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

Why Did I Keep Teaching When it Became Harder and Harder?

I taught for over 40 years in public and private schools, private industry, and pre-school.  I have seen the pendulum swing to both sides in areas of child behavior and accountability, homework, parent involvement, technology, etc. etc. etc.  I have seen parents totally abandon their children and “helicopter” parents!

Why did I stay so long?  Because I totally loved the challenge and the thrill of seeing a child suddenly learn a concept, suddenly be accepted by his/her peers, children sharing and helping like Rebeccah in the Bible, parents learn the multiplication tables to help their children, etc. etc. etc.

Hopefully, you still feel the same way.  Were there days that I totally felt sidelined by my Principals and District policy changes?  Of course, but then I remember the children who become my children in spite of their skin color or eye color!  I made that “momma” feeling apparent each and every day to teach and every child.

Did I suffer emotionally?  Maybe a little.  Did I learn to be on the parent’s side?  Absolutely!

I could go on and on.  If you’ve taught for more than 5 years, you’re there and committed!  Thank you.

I had someone tell me last Friday that “teachers of today don’t have the same dedication that more experienced teachers like me have!”  I truly hope that isn’t true!  This grandparent’s observation made me very sad.

Here’s an article that I just saw on Eutopia that definitely mirrors my life and heart as a teacher.  Please read about the experiences of Annie Tan, a Special Ed teacher, who I know I would be blessed to have in my school.

https://www.edutopia.org/blog/i-will-keep-teaching-despite-hardships-annie-tan?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=socialflow

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

