We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

How Can You Keep Your Cool When Your Students are Difficult?

It seemed that I had one or more difficult children each year that I taught in public schools or in private day care.  Most of them just needed to be loved, understood, given a little structured discipline, and then they were fine.  Then there was ________ (fill in the blank).  I was greatly discouraged to just call the office or send them down to the Guidance Counselor who was always busy.

I attended a #Time to Teach Seminar which gave me some wonderful ideas.  Their strategy of Unconditional Positive Regard is award winning and really works.  Attend their Seminars if you can.

But what did I do before I had that training?  It depended upon the child, of course.  What I did at the beginning of my 40 years experience definitely did NOT work with this generation.  Like my last Principal said, we definitely cannot blame the parents (as much as we want to do that!)  So, what do we do?

Private individual conferences, getting suggestions from the student to help them understand and become responsible for their own behavior, even involving their parents are all useful strategies.  These are a few ideas and they are a good beginning.  Please go to this blog site and then let me know what you think?  I’d love to hear your comments and suggestions.

http://www.weareteachers.com/blogs/post/2015/09/22/best-of-teacher-helpline!-keeping-your-cool-when-behavior-gets-tough?utm_content=1473800683&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

