We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

What do you do when your child hates school?

Of course, the answer to this question is to ask some questions of your own. Ask for explanations and descriptions before calling the teacher. Whenever I received this type of parental call, I usually took it as a serious problem that I would try to address the very next day in my classroom. Guess what I found out? The parent was usually correct! I had either assigned the child in a group that didn’t learn the way he did, or the work was really too easy for her. I’ve had children who needed glasses and couldn’t see the board and I offered to buy the child a pair of glasses. I even had a child who was being bullied by students sitting behind her. I stopped that in my classroom by moving her seating arrangement, but, unfortunately, I couldn’t stop it on the P.E. field.

Parents are NOT our enemy, my friends! If you’re a teacher and a parent, you understand what I just said.

Your school year is just beginning, and I know you want to get off on the right foot, so here’s a wonderful site that I just saw on Twitter, survivingateacherssalary.com, that gives some wonderful suggestions:

What to Do When Your Child Hates School

Did I succeed with all of my parents? No, I can think of 2 specific cases where I didn’t succeed during the over 40 years that I taught in elementary schools in various states. Both of my Principals in those cases, supported me and helped me understand the circumstances and that was a good thing for me and the families.

If you’re new to teaching this year, try to understand the child from the parent’s perspective. During conferences, sit beside the parent, not in a confrontational position. Talk to the siblings who no doubt will come along during the Conferences. Call the parents during the 2nd week of school to introduce yourself, encourage them, and laugh with them. Be their friend. You have their child in common.

Most importantly, you’ll be teaching the best that they have! I know that’s an old saying, but it’s true!

Leave a Reply

Categories

