We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

How can you control your class when you’re not there?

Over the years of teaching, I’ve often had to miss days of school because of illness or meetings. I would usually know in advance that I was going to be out and would mention that I expected my students to act respectfully toward whomever came in to cover for me. Of course, I’d leave extensive lesson plans noting which children need “special” direction and encouragement, names of Leaders for the Week, times for lunch, etc.

When I returned, my class would give me an evaluation of the substitute to let me know if they’d like to have him/her back another time. If they told me that that person was “mean,” I usually assumed that the sub had maintained control and my “special” students didn’t like it.

I was a substitute teacher in a small town in Northern Connecticut for about 15 years, so I know how difficult that job can be. I often would refuse to return to certain groups of students because I remembered their general behavior from a previous day.

Just this morning I received this post from WeAreTeachers. It suggests what teachers can do with their students when they receive a negative report about the class or individuals. I did have my class write apology letters on occasion because I knew that same substitute teacher would be in my school the next day. Why? Because children must learn to be held accountable for their actions. It’s part of growing into an adult.

I love this blog and the responses featured. I know you will, too.

http://www.weareteachers.com/blogs/post/2015/10/06/best-of-teacher-helpline!-you-got-a-bad-sub-report.-now-what?utm_content=1460394225&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2016 by in behavior problems, classroom management, substitute teachers and tagged .

Categories

