We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Classroom Management Strategies and other Teacher Worthy Ideas

We’re all in this together!

One year I taught a child who was bullied by a couple of boys in my class.  I felt it was getting worse than better even after talking to the whole class about being a Bully.  Then, it dawned on me, that she needed a defensive team – all the girls!  So, I brought all the girls together and had a “girl lunch.”  I acknowledged that I knew what was happening to this girl and asked all my other girls to protect her.  They loved the idea and continued doing this for her for the next several months until the school year was over.  They regularly reported to me about how they protected her during P.E. and at lunch.  They were a team and won the being Bullied game!  And, yes, the main Bully did leave her alone (mostly).  It worked!

I just saw this post, “Petals of Joy,” that explains my attempts to help my former student.  “Don’t you know we all belong together” could have been written by me.  I asked Heather if I could share this link for those of you who are looking for motivation and she said yes.

http://petalsofjoy.org/?p=1491

Enjoy and be blessed!

Leave a Reply

Categories

